Fighting Irish Official Sponsor

Fighting Irish News · Ekiyor Second in Mr. Football Voting; Two Irish Players Earn Position Awards

Cathedral offensive lineman Emil Ekiyor finished second in this year’s voting for the Indiana Mr. Football award which is presented annually to the top senior player in the state.  Ben Davis quarterback Reese Taylor was selected for the honor.  Taylor tallied 42 votes from the selection panel of coaches, while Ekiyor received nine votes.  Last season, Irish linebacker Pete Werner finished third in the Mr. Football voting.

Cathedral has had two players win the prestigious Mr. Football award.  Otis Shannon was the first Irish player to earn the designation as the state’s top player in 2000.  More recently, Terry McLaurin was named Mr. Football in 2013.

The Indiana Football Coaches Association ratings board also selected Ekiyor as the top offensive lineman in the state, while Cathedral’s Hugh Davis shared the best linebacker award with Lawrence Central’s Cameron McGrone.